Heels Over Head… for fall footwear

It’s time for some true confessions. If you haven’t noticed, I love shoes.  So much so that I am arguably a shoe addict. Don’t get me wrong, I love jackets and dresses and accessories, and go gaga over an amazing find no matter the item, but there is something about shoes that really pulls on my heartstrings.  I think it’s a combination of how amazing they look on my shoe rack, and how fantastic I feel when I pair an ensemble with a killer new pair of kicks.

Whatever the reason, this fondness for footwear will be a lifelong love affair, and my wallet often disagrees with my intentions. So while my heart tells me that my closet absolutely needs every pair of Manolos’, Jimmy’s and Louboutin’s, my bank account leans more towards an occasional Steve Madden with a sprinkling of fantastic look-a-likes. So my general rule of thumb is to splurge on the basics, like some knee high signature Steve Maddens that will last through seasons of sauntering through snow that are definitely worth the couple hundo’s you’re going to drop. Unlike this season’s fringe booties that will be out by the time New Years Eve rolls around, which can be found at much more reasonable prices.

Spiked Lita’s

Let’s start with this killer pair of spiked Lita’s by Jeffrey Campbell priced at $195 – super edgy, definitely attention grabbing, but let’s be real… you’ll probably only have 2 outfits to wear them with. Not really worth the price. But, I have some good news for you! The other day I was walking past Charlotte Russe and decided to venture inside – which is an action I do not take lightly. After maneuvering through racks of crunchy faux fur and shiny pleather, I FINALLY made it to the shoe wall, and much to my surprise, I found an incredible pair of spiked Lita’s that look an awful lot like Jeffrey’s! Now, these heels are currently priced at $50 (pretty steep for Charlotte Russe), but if you were looking for an addition to your nightlife wardrobe, I’d definitely give these a try!

Image

Jeffrey Campbell
Spiked Lita

Image

Charlotte Russe
Spiked Lita

Animal Print

I’ve always been a sucker for animal print, and I’m loving how designers are choosing to use them this season – like Michael Kors mixing leopard prints! For an inexpensive way to add a leopard print shoe to your wardrobe, check out these booties from Forever 21. Or, if you’re ready to take the plunge on a printed investment, these printed booties from Michael Kors are both sexy and classy. A good rule of thumb when investing in a pair of printed booties: animal print is already considered a risk, so tone down the “risqué” by opting for a shorter heel.

Image

MK Leopard

Image

F21 Leopard

Over The Knee Boot

I love the basic knee-high boot that we all wear season after season, but I must say, I love this over-the-knee trend that has mixing up the runways. From Altuzarra to UGG, this style is taking off as one of the fall/winter 2012 must wear trends! Vince Camuto has a chic and durable version that is sure to last years, but if you’re not ready to invest $250, this version from Urbanog.com is chic and trendy and is only $36.20!

Image

Vince Camuto

Image

Urbanog

Stay tuned for some street chic editions for inspiration on how to rock these great styles. In the meantime, play around with how to integrate these fabulous trends into your everyday runway.

XOXO

 

Lauren 

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

